After taking a peek at my google reader, yesterday’s prompt struck me. Yesterday, my dear friends, was six years since I told my wonderful husband I’d be his girlfriend, you see, so anything with elevens catches my attention.

Yesterday’s prompt was basically 11 things you don’t need in 2011, and I’m going to respond to that. I’m late, but I don’t care πŸ™‚

  1. I don’t need to put off housework anymore. My house is so, so much nicer when it’s vacuumed and the chrome fixtures in the bathroom sparkle. It’s ridiculous how much better having a really, really clean house makes you feel.
  2. I don’t need to be afraid. In 2011, I’ll move to another new city. I’ll have to find another life – another new house, another set of friends, another method of paying bills and going to the grocery store and, well, everything. That’s scary. It’s scary how much moving costs, how much we have to do to move, how far away our potential homes could be, and how much I could hate it – but I will stay positive, I will put my all into painting walls, refinishing furniture, thrifting, and other things that make my heart happy no matter where I am.
  3. I don’t need to buy crap that, well, I don’t need. In this last month, we’ve kind of went crazy buying some crap (including eating out) that we don’t really need. I made the promise to not buy furniture that I won’t use forever, and I need to do the same thing with clothing, shoes, artwork, craft stuff and kitchen gadgets. I went a long way in doing that by hand making a lot of my christmas decor that can be recycled or reused now.
  4. I don’t need to get drunk. I don’t really think I need to explain this one, other than my love for Santi’s margaritas. Good thing I don’t live in Charleston anymore.
  5. I don’t need to worry. I worry excessively over noises in the night, Chad’s driving, our house burning down or getting broken into, our cars getting stolen and all kinds of other crap that is out of my hands. I need to be happy with the precautions I’ve taken, have faith in God and my neighbors, and be able to enjoy my life rather than worry.
  6. I don’t need to compare myself to others. Kristen wrote this on hers and it’s actually something we talked about not too long ago… there is a certain person on my blog roll who only blogs the cutest parts of their life, and it makes me doubt my own sometimes. We all have our problems and we all have our happy exciting things too – I just choose to share more of my problems than other people. And I need to quit thinking that life has to look like a magazine, too – real people have stray socks under the couch sometimes, or walls without art. It’s life in progress.
  7. I don’t want to stop learning. I love learning, and I love to read… those are two things that have been such a part of me for my whole life. I love learning about petty things like decor to serious things like world issues to cool things, like photography. I want to keep reading and keep learning, and maybe even gain a new hobby by learning in the new year.
  8. I don’t need to keep trying to live my life by going home once a month. I love my family, but I think it’s starting to be time for me to establish my own life. Of course, when I move 10-20 hours away, that’s going to change things too.
  9. I don’t need to rashly choose a new place to live. Don’t get me wrong, I like (and am thankful for) my house. It’s low rent, in a fairly safe area, exactly two minutes from Publix and the community is well maintained, plus we have three bathrooms! (I know, can you tell I hate sharing a bathroom!?) However, the place we really wanted had a bit smaller kitchen but a separate dining room (ours is part of the living room), hardwood floors, a fireplace, built in bookshelves, taller ceilings and was a 10 minute walk from Five Points and 5 minute drive from downtown. I regret how quickly we signed the lease for this place – we won’t make that mistake with the next house.
  10. I don’t need to start projects and not finish them. Most of my ideas aren’t that bad, I need to suck it up and finish them. I’ll be putting in some cute prints come January in the upstairs hall and then refinishing my footlocker trunk thing, maybe that will make me follow through with some other ones!
  11. I don’t need to take my life for granted. There are so many, many reasons it’s so easy to take it for granted, too, but I need to stop and savor life more, to enjoy the life I’ve been given and have fun living it while being thankful for all I have. I don’t need to take my husband for granted, or the wonderful marriage we started this year. I don’t need to take our move to a new home for granted, or our families being only 5 hours away for the time being. I need to start being appreciative, and the first thing I’m going to do to start doing that is finish these wedding thank-you notes. πŸ™‚
