There are two not-so-secrets about me:

  1. I love design blogs, and mostly anything about design.
  2. I enjoy reading about consumer behavior, because I like learning about people. (Also, you can thank my market researcher husband for this)

Well, don’t I love it when two things like this come together. This blog from ECAB is a bit old (and so is the book – it’s already been replaced by another pop culture-y style consumer behavior book, I’m sure) but now that I’m in my own place with my own stuff, I can appreciate the thought behind it.

I’ve reupholstered (badly) my own chair, repainted my tables, spray-paint frames and objects and generally use what I’ve got, but I do have cheap “just for now” furniture. Part of my problem is that I’m impatient: I don’t like to wait for what I want and hunt for it by going to Goodwill/ReStore/Salvation Army/antique stores, I want my room to be finished. And therein lies my problem – once it’s finished, I am looking for something else to do – I have a feeling that for the rest of my life, my house WILL be a work in progress. And I don’t have a clue what kind of shelf I want for above the couch or headboard for the bed. Personally, I’m leaning towards not worrying about it, since we won’t be here but for six more months.

I am going to try my hardest to stick by this promise she makes, too – despite the fact that I could live as close as Atlanta or as far as Europe – because I think it’s important to not buy crap. I actually bought one of my IKEA tables from Goodwill… just as I saw the matching one again there, two weeks ago. Crap is not sustainable, it’s boring, it’s not unique and it’s not sturdy – crap is crap. And, I’m joining her in subscribing to the idea that quality still exists, and I only want to support quality, even if it’s something I make myself.

