I was reading around on The Nest forums tonight, looking into money-saving ideas and things like that, and I saw something that caught my eye. It was someone’s ticker, saying “X days left in my 100 day diet. I can do anything for 100 days!”

That inspired me. I already have a 101 in 1001 list going on, but this is a little different. Could I eat healthy and cheaply for 100 days? Could I walk every day for 100 days? Could I remember to take my vitamin every day for 100 days? It’s not hard to think of things that I want to do, but seem to slack off on. Considering Chad’s cousin Elaine finished the Chicago Marathon today in about five and a half hours having never run the full 26.2 before (Oh, and she did it for charity, and raised $4,600 for the Leukemia-Lymphoma Society. How’s that for an amazing goal?!), I felt a bit inspired and, well, lame for not doing more to be healthy, help others or feel fulfilled in my life. I think it’s easy to get through the day sometimes, just breezing by and not taking note of what we really want to do, want to change or want to be.

So, I’m choosing my 100 day topic this week, and I’m blogging about it in the hopes that someone else will see a change that they would truly love to make for themselves. They say something becomes a habit after 21 days, and this is almost five times longer than that. Maybe it can become a healthy lifelong habit or maybe just a fun goal to achieve… it doesn’t matter.

I’ll announce on my blog later this week what my 100-day goal will be, and I hope to see some more 100-day goals out there, too. And to put my money where my mouth is, I will try my absolute hardest to blog about reaching my goal.

