How many times have you gone to a restaurant that you’d heard was nice, and the cost was out of your budget? Yeah, we usually eat at those kinds of places too. I can’t, for the life of me, understand why there aren’t more accessible, less-costly good food in areas lacking a local flavor.

I’ve always liked cooking. I think of it more as a hobby than anything else. But there’s also something that’s reflected in a good restaurant, good ambiance. Restaurants are hard work! Frankly, I’m terrified of that thought.

At the same time, a good restaurant is worth its weight in truffles. And I don’t mean good in the conventional “small portions, high price, delicious exotic flavor” sense–why is it so hard to saute some asparagus, julienned white onion and bits of country ham and serve it next to a thick pork chop for under $20? I don’t get it.

So, I’m going to try to fill the void. I’m not certain on the specifics yet. But what I want, more than anything, is to enjoy and be proud of what I do. Sometimes that means taking a risk–sink or swim. And there it is.

