When did this turn into a cooking blog? I feel like it was sometime last year. I don’t mean for it to be, but usually, the cool recipes I try are my most favorite part of my day!

I do a lot of cooking. I’m really, really sick right now and I’m still crazy cooking. (What is wrong with me?! That seems to be another story) Today’s recipe isssss….. yep, you guessed it, Greek yogurt based! I bought a big container of it and occasionally I like to play the game “What can I make for dinner tonight?” based around an ingredient. I also picked up a can of chickpeas and somehow, the seasoning gods smiled upon me and while I was searching for my big ol’ container of cumin, I found a bunch of coriander seeds!

So yep. Falafels it is. Mandy’s never had it, but I know she’s going to love it. What is it, you may ask? It’s a chickpea patty that is amazingly delicious from Pita Pit, something I had thought of trying soon but hadn’t yet gotten around to trying.

I can’t report on how it is yet, as I’m still waiting to make them (in about 20 minutes, that is!) but you  may be asking, where does the greek yogurt, or Fage (“fa-yeh”) come in? Tzatziki sauce, of course. I’m making a standard one (i.e., with cucumber) but you can use other ingredients–the NYT made one with beets–and even make a bunch of Naan if you want. [The link is already almost two years old, so if it’s gone in the next couple of months, I wouldn’t be surprised.]

Here’s a quick recipe–and it’s onion and food-processor free!

Falafel:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp crushed coriander seeds (don’t need a spice grinder… I used my garlic press, but it’s the kind with a removable basket)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour (can use whole wheat, but throw a pinch of all purpose and a pinch of cumin in there)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • serve with tzatziki sauce (see recipe below)

Mix all the ingredients except flour and oil. Using a fork, crush the beans with a fork. This will mix the spices in at the same time. When you’ve got a paste that sticks together mostly, form into little flat patties about an inch and a half in diameter and dredge in the flour. Let sit ten to twenty minutes to let the flour totally bind to the patties, and then fry in the oil (you may have to add a little more oil as you go along). You should get 10-12 patties from the mix. Serve as you would any meat in a pita pocket.

Tzatziki sauce: Mix 1 cup greek yogurt (I used Fage 0% from TJs) and 1/4 cup minced cucumber. Let sit for 15 minutes at least before serving and stir to keep flavor even throughout.

