well, it has been quite a week. I have been so sick with… H1N1! i Now that I’m back in commission (though still weak), Mandy and I have set a weight loss goal because… I found the dress! And Mandy just wants to lose the last little bit she needs to lose before she gets her MOH dress.

So, of course, I’ve been aiming for healthy (yet still tasty) meals this week. Tonight’s choice was pasta, salad and a roll, yum!

First of all, the salad was baby greens and, sadly, what I fear is the last heirloom tomato of the season. I was sad as soon as I cut it! But never fear, squash will be tasty too. I also made my own toasted croutons! Comment for the recipe, it’s pretty simple.

Spicy Sausage and Veggie Farfaille

  • 1 medium zucchini, about two cups
  • 1 small white or sweet onion, about 1/2 cup
  • 1 cup button or baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup roasted red pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1 roll reduced fat hot pork sausage (OR Publix hot italian sausage–about the same fat content, but major difference if you live in the south near a Publix! If you use these, cut off the casings and crumble like you would the bulk sausage)
  • 1 medium jar Ragu (or any other pasta sauce you like–Ragu chunky is pretty good though!)
  • 1 cup crushed italian seasoned tomatoes
  • about 2 – 3 cups Barilla PLUS farfaille, ziti or whatever shape you like (even spaghetti would be great)

The pasta was literally, my labor of love. I was so excited because I used so many veggies! The first thing I did was use a Y-shaped peeler to slice zucchini into thin slices, then slice those to about a half inch thickness. You could also use a julienne peeler, but I’m not buying that yet–putting it on the registry.

Chop up the onions, mushrooms, peppers, artichoke hearts and garlic. Set aside in individual prep bowls. Start the sausage with 1 tsp olive oil and the onions; brown the sausage. Near the end, add the peppers and garlic. Turn the heat down to medium-low and cover for five minutes, then add the mushrooms and give it another five minutes. Next, throw in the crushed tomatoes and artichoke hearts; let simmer while you start the water for the pasta.

Going back to the sauce, next put in whatever jarred sauce you’ve chosen. Let it simmer while you add the pasta and set your timer–when you have four minutes left, throw in the zucchini.

Drain the pasta and add the sauce, and mix well! Enjoy!

We also had rolls–I recommend Pillsbury Whole Wheat 110 calorie rolls, but have stumbled upon some more calorie consious brands–we had Alexia tonight since Ingles stopped carrying the Pillsbury rolls, and they were only 100 calorie but were normal. Still delicious in any way!

