I found this article in the NYT, my morning read of choice, incredibly interesting! Basically, it’s about a new consumer class emerging–the designer label seeker looking for the discount designer duds or the cheaper designer lines at places like Target and Kohl’s.

I’m not into “designers” but as far as bargains go… I’m pretty much a bargain shopper. But you know what? I don’t mind that–I have jeans that are normally $50-$60, that I’ve never paid more than $24 for, and that doesn’t bother me.

But the article pointed out that these people might not need to be shopping in a recession when they cant afford their bills. I agree with that, but I think there are a lot out there not in that position–spending less due to fear. The economy is never going to improve if we don’t spend something. I try not to buy what I don’t need, but the fact is that I do need new shirts for winter and new shoes, that makeup is a necessity, and if I can do a little shopping each week to contribute to retail so that more people don’t lose their jobs, that’s okay with me.

_____________________________________________ new topics! _______________________________________

hmm. I already wrapped the 60% of christmas gifts I’ve already purchased (and the birthday gifts for the girls, too!). I’m excited for christmas this year, I think it’s going to be a fun one. I’ve been thinking about the cookie swap and I think I’m going to do some white choco macadamia nut cookies–who makes those from scratch?  We need to make invitations in the next week or so and find out any allergies!

Weather is getting cold here! Had my caramel apple cider (a standard) from Sbux, but it kind of sucked it… hard. So I think I’m going back to using the syrup to make my own. Three squirts and a good quality apple juice 🙂

Halloween is this weekend. Stay safe everyone! I wish I was going to be here for the masquerade party!

